Tuesday, 18 June 2013

Review: Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs (Mercy Thompson #7)

Publisher - Orbit
Publication Date - 5th March 2013
Paperback - 368 pages
Genre - Urban Fantasy

Source - Purchased

Rating - 4 out of 5: I really liked it

Reviewed by - Chrissie

Book Info - Now that she's the mate of Alpha werewolf Adam, Mercy Thompson's life finally seems to be calming down - but not for long. After a traffic accident, Mercy suddenly can't reach Adam or the rest of the pack. All she knows is that Adam's angry and in pain.

If Adam's disappearance has anything to do with the werewolves' fight for public acceptance, it means the entire pack is in serious danger. Outclassed and on her own, Mercy will have to seek help from an unlikely ally - no matter how grave the consequences.

My Thoughts - For those of you who've read my reviews of the previous books in this series, you'll know that it is probably my favourite series...ever! With possibly the exception of River Marked (book 6) which I didn't enjoy quite so much, so much so that I seem to have forgotten to review it completely, these books have been amazing. And I'm glad to say that with this instalment, the author seems to have got over her little funk that she experienced with the previous book and it was well on par with the earlier books in the series.

Mercy is her usual kick-ass self, and when the rest of the pack is taken and she is the only person who can rescue them, she quickly gets into action and does what she has to do. This is one of my favourite qualities in Mercy... she knows what has to be done and she's not afraid to get her hands a little dirty in the process. She loves Adam and will do anything to get him back, as well as the rest of the pack, even if that does mean teaming up with an unlikely ally.

I love how there is always a mystery involved with each of these books for Mercy and the gang to solve. Once again, the mystery element perfectly compliments the more paranormal elements, and had me turning the pages to find out who was behind the kidnapping (or wolf-napping) and what the reason behind it was. And it was not obvious at all, well not to me at least, who was involved.

Summary - A perfect addition to a kick-ass urban fantasy series. Fans of this genre will love it and people who aren't fans of the genre should still read these books.

Other books in the series:
1. Moon Called
2. Blood Bound
3. Iron Kissed
4. Bone Crossed
5. Silver Borne
6. River Marked
7. Frost Burned


Shelagh said...

I'm only two books into this series so far, but it is SO good to hear that things are still going strong 7 books down the line.

Great review Chrissie.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Our Bloggers...

Maddie sometimes guest blogs here!